Iconic Photos

Famous, Infamous and Iconic Photos

The 600th Post

with 18 comments

It was a little over a year ago that I started this blog — so this is an anniversary of sorts. I thought to myself at that time, “Golly, I don’t think I can find more than 30 iconic photos.” That prediction proved to be half-right, half-wrong. The blog had been a great learning opportunity for me (and a great ploy to take many of my dates to photogalleries). Iconicity is in the eye of the beholder, but I am fairly certain that I covered a good cross-section of society and history since photography’s inception. I agree that not all of the above photographs are iconic, but to me they represented and preserved the eras and cultures, some transient, some everlasting.

I leafed through my notebook and to my amazement and consternation, I found I still have like 100 photos I would love to cover. True, some of those are too risque, some not available in electronic form (yes, I am usually too lazy to move 2 feet extra to scan my books), and some not ready accessible even in print form. Some would just bring lawsuits to me. But my goal so far has been to put together a meagre online archive so that a student of historical photography don’t have to scavenge all over the internet for one photo he vaguely recalls from his childhood or something like that, and in that, (I think) I succeeded.

Thanks for all the support. I probably won’t make it to the 1000th post, but it is always worth trying….

(Strictly speaking, this is 602nd post, but since I posted two site announcements before, the dubious honor of the 600th post goes to the photo that would come directly after this one. Any suggestions?)

Written by Alex Selwyn-Holmes

April 23, 2010 at 1:14 am

Posted in Uncategorized

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Umm… What’s wrong with „risque” photos? I’m sure that the truly iconic ones really do transcend the manical puritanism that some have.
    Of course, nobody says that you *have* to like the works of Irving Penn, but even if one doesn’t like those pictures, the master eye cannot be denied.


    April 23, 2010 at 2:03 am

  2. Please try and make it to 1000 posts! I look at your site most days, I find it an interesting way to view history, and read about events I wouldn’t normally know about, and of course to look at all the amazing photos. Keep going – I’ll certainly keep visiting the site!


    April 23, 2010 at 4:45 am

  3. you’re running a great blog – fascinating photos with really interesting commentary. please keep the project going till 1000 and beyond.


    April 23, 2010 at 5:10 am

  4. I love this blog, and would love to see it continue.

    You should definitely consider doing some of the risque pictures. And by lawsuit do you mean the pictures are still under copyright?


    April 23, 2010 at 6:41 am

  5. You are, no kidding, one of the most interesting blogs on the internet. Thank you very much, your photos are seriously most interesting. Please, PLEASE keep it up!

    Rob Rascally

    April 23, 2010 at 7:01 am

  6. Your blog is great !
    Continuez, continuez !


    April 23, 2010 at 10:38 am

  7. I’ve learned a lot from this blog, and I’ve always enjoyed reading your posts. Please keep going as long as you still enjoy writing it.


    April 23, 2010 at 2:48 pm

  8. I think you’ll make it to 1,000. No need to hurry, thought–take your time, we’re not going anywhere 🙂


    April 23, 2010 at 5:47 pm

  9. My favorite blog, hands down. I’ve learned a lot from spending time here – including a newfound love of historical photography.

    Thank you.


    April 23, 2010 at 10:14 pm

  10. Fantastic blog, and very educational. Keep up the great work🙂


    April 24, 2010 at 7:15 pm

  11. What about Jane Fonda in North Vietnam? That photo must count as infamous!

    And I join the chorus in saying keep up the good work.


    April 25, 2010 at 10:17 pm

  12. Thank you very much for the work you have done so far !
    Very very intersting blog.


    April 26, 2010 at 8:37 am

  13. Your blog is really great and unique. Congratulation to the 600th post. Keep it up.


    April 26, 2010 at 10:56 am

  14. You don’t waste anything while trying to find the truth… These pictures are proof that mankind deserves to be explored and understood …The eye is conected to the mind, and the mind acknowledges that we are what we only pretend to be… So we must be careful what we pretend to be….sssssssss Keep up the good work bro


    April 26, 2010 at 3:29 pm

  15. Ditto to all the positive comments above. Outstanding work.


    May 4, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  16. Very interesting blog. Keep it up!
    – An avid reader/watcher

    Anonymous reader

    May 6, 2010 at 11:26 pm

  17. This is what blogs were invented for, keep it up


    May 11, 2010 at 6:12 pm

  18. […] I have done a few variations on my theme: a painting, a television show, a magazine, a montage, a portfolio-profile, and lastly, a what-if. These were the posts I had the most fun […]

Leave a Reply

