Neil Armstrong (1930 – 2012)

Neil Armstrong, a modern explorer and (more importantly for us at IP) the first photographer on the Moon, is dead, aged 82. 

As the primary photographer of the first successful manned lunar mission, Neil Armstrong appeared very infrequently in the photos he took on the Moon [1]. Yet, he was everywhere on the Sea of Tranquility during that short 2 hour 36 minutes sojourn; a bootprint here, a reflection there, and his larger-than-life shadow intimately looming behind the viewer in many photos.

Two men were equipped with four special Hasselblad 70mm cameras, two 16mm data acquisition cameras and one 35mm close-up stereoscopic camera. Altogether, they took 232 color and 107 black and white photographs on the surface of the moon. The cameras were left on the Moon to make room for lunar samples. The Hasselblads were fitted with a reseau plate — a piece of engraved glass between the lens and the film that add cross-hatches to the photos — in order to help NASA analyze the films later by creating a grid. In that event, many of the frames remained in NASA archives, until a project to digitize them was completed in 2004.

As for Neil Armstrong, I will send him off by paraphrasing Richard Nixon/William Safire:

In ancient days, men looked at the stars and saw their heroes in the constellations. In modern times, we do much the same, but our heroes are epic men of flesh and blood. Neil Armstrong was one such man.

In his exploration, he stirred the people of the world to feel as one, and bound more tightly the brotherhood of man.

He will be mourned by his family and friends; he will be mourned by his nation; he will be mourned by a Mother Earth that dared send one of her sons into the unknown.

*

[1] Hopefully, I won’t die of heart attack in next couple of days as I fume over news agencies mislabeling Buzz Aldrin as Neil Armstrong in those lunar photos. 

20 thoughts on “Neil Armstrong (1930 – 2012)”

  1. I remember my Dad calling me in from outside. He sat me down in front of the TV and simply said “Watch this. It’s history in the making.”

    I was 7.

    I just sat there and watched in awe. Later, I went outside and looked at the Moon feeling incredibly inspired to want to fly.

  2. […] Neil Armstrong (1930 – 2012) « Iconic Photos Two men were equipped with four special Hasselblad 70mm cameras, two 16mm data acquisition cameras and one 35mm close-up stereoscopic camera. Altogether, they took 232 color and 107 black and white photographs on the surface of the moon. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in historical by ronbrinkmann. Bookmark the permalink. […]

  3. You really make it seem really easy along with your presentation
    but I find this topic to be actually something that I think I would never understand.

    It sort of feels too complicated and extremely extensive for me.
    I’m taking a look ahead for your subsequent submit, I will attempt to get the dangle of it!

  4. I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking
    for. Does one offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome site!

  5. What i do not realize is in truth how you’re now not actually much more well-favored than you might be now. You are very intelligent. You understand therefore considerably on the subject of this topic, produced me personally imagine it from numerous various angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be fascinated unless it’s one thing to do with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. All the time maintain it up!

  6. It is the best time to make some plans for the long run
    and it is time to be happy. I have read this submit and if I may
    I desire to counsel you some attention-grabbing
    issues or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring
    to this article. I desire to read even more issues approximately it!

  7. You’ve made some really good points there. I looked on the internet for more information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this site.

  8. You really make it seem really easy along with your presentation but I in finding this matter to be really one thing that I believe I would by no means understand.
    It seems too complicated and very extensive for me.
    I am looking forward for your subsequent publish, I will
    attempt to get the grasp of it!

  9. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing for your feed and I’m
    hoping you write again soon!

  10. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was
    a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!

    However, how could we communicate?

Leave a Reply